BCE/CTV Benefits Hearing at the CRTC

Hi Minister Moore,

I’m glad we’re Twitter pals now. Baby steps.

Checking back following my presentation to the CRTC last week regarding the benefits associated with the BCE/CTV “transaction”.

In short, neither BCE or the CRTC appear super interested in educating the public about  the digital OTA TV transition.

Looks like Canadians will have to turn to each individual broadcaster to find out what’s going on with their television after August 31.

I will be making my final comment by the Feb 11 deadline suggesting that BCE fund a toll free number for confused Canadians that I will answer myself in my apartment or maybe at Ryerson if they find a room for me.

I called Bell today and it only costs $20 a month for a toll free number that you can have forwarded to any number. If the CRTC and Bell don’t bite I’ll just do it myself.  Hope KvF isn’t reading this.

Speaking of KvF, that man is tall! Tall and serious. I wanted to ask to have a picture taken with him when i was in Gatineau but I chickened out.

I like KvF. I do. He’s the man for the job.

I wish he was more into OTA TV, but to be fair, I think he sees the writing on the wall.

Prime Minister Harper, and industry for that matter, don’t seem too into responding to the calls for action about DTV that the CRTC has been sounding for years.

With just over 6 months to go, it is for sure going to be a mess (the DTV transition).

Greg and Iain called this long ago but I had some hope up until last week that this TV transition could be done smoothly.  Not any longer.

It’s not gonna be pretty.

CBC and Quebecor are already putting forward transition plans that don’t satisfy the Broadcasting Act.

TVO? Don’t get me started. 

It looks like we’re doin’ this THE HARD WAY.

I’m here to help so don’t hesitate to tweet.

Best,

Steven

p.s. I fell in love about 5 times heading to and from lunch at the food court located between the Portage IV and Portage III buildings in Gatineau.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

