CRTC update regarding over-the-air television service in Whitehorse, Yellowknife and Iqaluit

Dear Minister Moore,

The CRTC issued a pair of new decisions today regarding Canada’s digital television transition.

The only big change is that Whitehorse, Yukon, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories and Iqaluit, Nunavut are no longer listed as markets where a transition to digital television is mandatory.

Since transmitters in Whitehorse and Yellowknife are in small markets, are not located between 52 and 69 on the dial, and will have “no impact” on adjacent markets, they are able to remain transmitting in analog beyond August 31, 2011.

The logic behind Iqaluit not having to go digital, as stated by the CRTC, is that since it has never had any full powered over-the-air analog television transmitters, the Commission can’t require any digital television transition there.

I find this justification curious.

Was the CRTC not aware of this originally? If not, why? Seems like something they should have known about, non?

If on the other hand the CRTC has always known this, why the change? Did the CRTC originally want Iqaluit,  a capital city, to have digital television? Why no longer?

To recap, the new plan for over-the-air television in Canada’s North is that analog television transmissions will be allowed to continue in Yellowknife and Whitehorse, and  Iqaluit will be allowed to continue without any full powered over-the-air television signals at all.

Steven

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CRTC update regarding over-the-air television service in Whitehorse, Yellowknife and Iqaluit

  1. Fred Horrocks says:

    Hi Steven, thanks for the info. Interesting.You mention a “new plan” that allows analog tv transmissions to continue in Yellowknife and Whitehorse.If you know.When is this to happen?
    How is it possible for me to still receive APTN with my rabbit ears and not CBC? APTN made an announcement that they were switching to digital signals more than a year ago and advised viewers they can get a converter box free of charge from them.When APTN did switch over to digital I thought I was going to lose the pleasure of enjoying their programming.Not so.Still receive although picture is not great.So how come I cannot get CBC? Do you know of a converter box of some kind we can get to rectify this problem in Whitehorse? Some digital converters have shown up in Whitehorse but I have been told by local stores here that they do not work in the north.How so? Thanks.

    • Hi Fred,

      Thanks for the comment. CBC is still allowed to broadcast analogue over-the-air (OTA) TV signals in Yellowknife and Whitehorse but they have decided not to. I believe CBC may now have a digital OTA TV transmitter in Yellowknife but they were not required to install one. I’m not familiar with APTN but if you can still get their signal with rabbit ears then a local analogue or digital transmitter must be near your home. Best, Steven.

  2. Frank says:

    So you are saying that although I pay for CBC services with my tax $$$’s I can not get CBC in Iqaluit… I get APTN with no issues but no CBC

    • Hi Frank,

      Thank you for the comment. When did you lose your over-the-air CBC TV in Iqaluit?

      Steven

      • Frank says:

        I was using Bell all the time but trying to save some money so I got rid of my Bell TV and just use the Air for my few channels so I can keep up with local news. I can get APTN and a few other channels no issues but I still can not pickup CBC.

        Sent from my iPod

      • Hi Frank,

        Depending on when you unsubscribed to Bell TV, you might be eligible for Shaw Direct’s LTSS. See the LTSS page on this site. Let me know how it goes.

        Steven

Leave a Reply

