Dude TV blog post #100: CRTC approves shut down of CBC TV analogue transmitters + Sign off from Steven

Dear Minister Moore,

Hot summer we’re having, eh? Hope you and your dog are keepin’ cool.

As I’m sure you’ve heard by now, the CRTC has approved CBC’s request to shut off its remaining analogue television transmitters and to not replace them with digital transmitters.

Two elements of this CRTC decision stand out to me.

First, the CRTC mentions in the decision that CBC does not have an obligation to broadcast.

I find this curious since the CBC is defined in the Broadcasting Act (Section 3, l) as “the national public broadcaster”.

The other thing about the CRTC’s decision that stands out to me is that the CRTC is once again putting its faith in Shaw’s Local Television Satellite Solution (LTSS) program as the sure fire fix to Canadians who stand to lose OTA CBC TV on August 1, 2012.  If a BDU like Shaw is going to be the saviour of rural and remote CBC TV, Shaw really should start promoting this largely unknown and limited time offer. CBC and Canadian Heritage should be promoting the LTSS too, I reckon.

Seeing that WordPress is advising that this here is my 100th Dude, Where’s My TV? blog post and that the CRTC has approved CBC’s request to shut off its remaining analogue television transmitters across Canada, I figure that it’s fitting that I make this my final Dude TV blog post.

Special thanks to the #DTV2011 Army and to Dr. Murphy at Ryerson for approving this blog as an assignment back in 2010.

Best,

Steven

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dude TV blog post #100: CRTC approves shut down of CBC TV analogue transmitters + Sign off from Steven

  1. Brenda says:

    Thanks for working so hard to spread the word about this program. I have managed to get hooked up with a free Shaw Satellite & receiver at no monthly charge. I have yet to submit a report on how it is working for me. Initially it didn’t load properly but the folks at Shaw were very patient & got it going. Needless to say, I was thrilled. Two days later I was out of town for several days and when I got home it wasn’t working again!?? After spending over an hour on the phone with Shaw again, it was up and running. I have yet to see if this is going to happen every time I go away??? I am hoping not. The girl did mention if the receiver’s not turned on for a few days, it goes into sleep mode. (There’s a joke there some where, I’m sure!) Anyway she gave me instructions to phone Shaw & press 2 & then 4 on the options, to refresh your receiver. So that’s the next thing that I will have to test in a couple of weeks. Yikes!
    Thanks again Steven for bringing this program to my attention. Guess I owe you one. 🙂

  2. Jamie says:

    thanks for the info, just called shaw, filled out the form & emailed it back to them….seems too good to be true. free tv that is not analog! guess i will wait and see what the next step is?

    i did read the fine print about any “associated costs” with the installation of the dish?

    i guess i will just sit and wait from 8-5 for the technician to come out, and see what they say.

  3. Hi Steven: Since I’ve read your blog,on occasion,I figure it’s about I let you know it gets read and I’m ‘out there’Keep it up,eh?.

    Yesterday,the cheap Scumbags at CBC(SRC channel 44 ‘Peterborough) and TVO (ch. 18 PTBO) were turned off.I toy with the idea from time to time of quitting Shaw Direct and going OTA,but here in Hastings,east of Peterborough,all we have left is: Global(owned by Shaw -gulp!)ch. 27,CBC ch. 12(CHEX),CTV ch. 35.1(CFTO)-Bobcaygeon[Dunsford]…meanwhile,Ottaw,Toronto and along the border,they have it made!

    Honestly,around here,your ATSC tuner is just about useless and your analog NTSC tuner is getting there!Unreal,considering how it was when we came to Canada back in the 1960s!

    Now,Seniors,Low Income Canadians,Cottagers,etc need not bother with that antenna,or Rabbit Ears(afterall,’studies’ show ‘less than 1% of their viwers are watching OTA(now how the h… would they know that!?)….because they only have 3 choices:

    1)Satellite TV
    2)Cable
    3)Go without,or watch online,if you have Broadband.

    I think what it is,is the govenment wants to control what and howe watch TV and plus they make a lot of taxes off of sales of Satellite TV services,equipment,programming and Cable Tv,so…can’t have people watching free TV -they’d lose all those taxes! lol

    So,fight back:

    If you’re in a big city,-get an antenna!
    If you’re near the border -insult the CBC,CTV,GLOBAL,TVO,etc,buy antenna,point it south and watch FREE U.S. DIGITAL TV!!!!

    • Hi Richard,

      Thanks for the detailed reply. I see your link goes to a spamish site. What’s that all about?

      Steven

      • richardbligdon says:

        Sorry about that.I still had that web url(which I owned once) in my WordPress settings.I’ve removed it and since I don’t have a site right now,I’ve left it blank,so hopefully it’s now fixed.

      • No problem. I knew you weren’t spam. 🙂

    • Chris Sobieniak says:

      “I think what it is,is the govenment wants to control what and howe watch TV and plus they make a lot of taxes off of sales of Satellite TV services,equipment,programming and Cable Tv,so…can’t have people watching free TV -they’d lose all those taxes! lol”

      That’s certainly what is happening, and I really despite that sort of logic myself. I suppose it was inevitable that we end up living in “wired” society given the circumstances with the large choices we have despite it all being the same in the end. We really don’t need to take that sort of blind abuse any longer if we still know what’s best for us. Canada’s transition to digital certainly has come off far worst than it had in the US (regardless of our problems, but it’s not like stations are forcing you into cable/satellite packages just to watch them yet).

  4. Randy Foxton says:

    It is a shame that we are taking one giant step back in time where if you are lucky enough to live near the border
    or near a major city to watch tv.I cant wonder if the people making these decisions are inviolation of the fairness and hardship act

  5. bunnyears says:

    I became aware of the LTSS program thru your blog, no-one else around here ( rural Alberta ) had heard anything about it. I have had the satellite hooked up and running for 2 weeks now, getting 10 channels, which is way more than the one that I got on rabbit ears. TV should be free ! My husband printed up some info from LTSS and has been passing it on to people at his worksite.
    A big thank you to you, Steven, I am grateful for your help.

  6. Robert says:

    I found it incredulous that CBC execs would forfeit the OTA. Digitally or analogue it suggests they don’t care about their long-term market. Therfore why should Canadians across the country care about the fortunes of big wig CBC execs as well as their corporation? This is a small decision with big long-term consequences … for the CBC .

  7. Marg says:

    Many thanks for all your work. Got mine installed this week..

Leave a Reply

